Protecting Your Pearly Whites

I’ve hated brushing my teeth ever since I was a little kid. It’s always seemed like such a hassle but I can still remember my grandfather telling me to brush for approximately 2 minutes. The combination between loving sweets and being lazy before bedtime led me to countless cavities and a root canal by the time I hit the 5 th grade. It took me a long time to realize how important it is to take care of my teeth and today I made my last dentist appointment before my dental insurance runs out. Of course I’m hoping to land a job that offers benefits, but because that’s not guaranteed, I’m taking advantage of one more cleaning and any fillings that may need done. Being away from home has turned into an excuse not to pencil in life’s necessary checkups. I think many students put off appointments because they don’t know where to go if it’s outside of their hometown or maybe that don’t feel like paying a small copay. If you’re fortunate enough to have dental insurance through your parents while you’re still in school, I would suggest using it. Afterall, you can only benefiting from it.

I realize now more than ever that life comes with more responsibilities than just homework. Taking care of our teeth is crucial because it affects other aspects of our lives. And no, I don’t mean maintaining your appearance with twice a day white strips or freshening your breath with a little bit of mouthwash. If you wait too long before your next examination, your dentist may not be able to discover all of those nasty germs that are constantly spreading in your mouth. Early detection can reduce your chances of developing cardiovascular disease, diabetes, or even lung disease. I’m guilty of not scheduling regular appointments, but I want other students to learn from my mistakes . Keeping your teeth healthy by means of early detection will save pain, money, and potentially serious health problems.

Dr. Chetan recommends 9 ways to keep your teeth healthy (most of which you can do from home).

In addition, I enjoyed reading this article about facts that your dentist wants you to know!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

