Diving Into A New Workout

As a child, I was enrolled in swimming lessons at one of the local public pools. I can remember waking up eager to go (regardless of how frigid the water temperatures are at 7a.m.) swim with the other kids. When I reflect back on my youth, it seems pools were meant for water gun fights and jumping off the highest diving boards to impress your friends. Now that I’m older, it’s become a symbol of physical fitness rather than child’s play. With that being said, physical activities don’t stay exciting forever which is why it’s important to participate in an exercise that’s going to keep you motivated. Therefore, I’ve recently decided to take it upon myself to start swimming at the rec center three times a week because it’s a rigorous workout, yet fun in the process.

When I got into the water today, I didn’t understand why I had waited so long to take laps in the pool. I’m no elite swimmer so it took me a minute to get started, but I began practicing various techniques that I learned from childhood. The three basic styles I could remember learning were the backstroke, freestyle, and underwater techniques. It felt so good to take another approach to exercising, and implement other parts of my body that haven’t been applied in awhile. For instance, I’m not flexible at all, but in the water you feel weightless and are able to move so freely.

There are many advantages to swimming which is why I’ve started conditioning. Moving through the water really improves your heart rate and lung capacity because you don’t have the ability to breathe in oxygen at all times. In addition, I like to swim because it’s not too strenuous on your body. It increases your muscle strength, but it’s not a higher impact workout like weightlifting. I swam at a comfortable pace, which allowed me to exercise all parts of my body including my cardiovascular system. My upper body became tired eventually so I switched to using a swimming board to work out my legs.

After about 45 minutes, I finished up and felt great about what I had accomplished. It’s a great way to lose weight or just tone your figure. I’d highly recommend utilizing an indoor community pool until summer is in session. This is a big step towards a positive change and I want to make it a long-term practice. You never know, I may be one of the old lady’s you see participating in water aerobics someday. It’s healthier than playing bingo, right?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

