YOGA For The Soul

So this week I decided to try a new form of exercise other than my usual cardio and free weights routine. I went to a yoga class at the rec center and loved it. It required a lot of flexibility, (which I don’t have) but I’ve already marked my calendar to go again. It was quite rewarding and I was amazed at how relieved I felt afterwards just by balance exercises and the practice of controlled breathing. It allowed me to forget about the stress of my midterms (and rising gas costs).

I actually researched yoga when I got home and found out that it’s been around for more than 5,000 years! I thought that was odd because it seems its popularity just spiked within the past couple decades. It’s always nice to discover something new, but especially when you have the opportunity to engage in it. It’s something to look forward to a couple times a week and I’m able to switch up my usual exercise habits. I won’t always have the luxury of free training, so I need to utilize the classes as much as I can.

I’d definitely recommend the class because not only is it good for your health, but it’s a form of relaxation and truly frees your mind. Running on a treadmill doesn’t give you the same fulfillment as yoga because this includes the mind, body, and spirit. It sounds cheesy, but as a student I wish I would’ve taken this class up sooner because it’s very soothing. Most girls love zumba, but I wasn’t able to follow the fast paced work out so well, so this was a nice change. I look at it as a bubble bath that’s long overdue. It’s not for everybody, but it’s definitely worth a try.

Courtesy of Google images.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

