Bumping Heads

Image

There are many challenges you will face in college but one of the biggest is having roommates. In my case, I have three and the older I get, the less tolerant I become. Last weekend was one of the worst experiences I’ve had with my roommates in the past two years that we’ve lived together. I had to leave my apartment at 4:00 a.m. because one of my roommates came home intoxicated with her friends. They stumbled in the front door yelling and screaming as if no one was home, nonetheless sleeping. I jumped out of bed and asked politely if they would quiet down, but was rejected with an irritable look. I didn’t bother getting back into bed I just threw on some clothes and left. As I was leaving, two of my roommates were lighting a trash can on fire right outside of our front door. (I would assume this puts into perspective the severity of my situation.) Ten minutes later, I got to my friend’s house and slept soundly the rest of the night.

Thus, the moral of the story is before you live with someone make sure they’re going to respect you. If you don’t, you’ll be tied into a lease with someone that you are forced to endure rather than enjoy.

If you don’t take the right steps to address the situation properly, you may let your emotions take over. Here are some tips:

  • Set ground rules from the beginning. If you make a list of things that you expect of each other then you will have fewer forks in the road.
  • Communication is everything, so choose your words carefully. If you decide to confront them about a problem make sure you don’t show aggression or an attitude. This makes people less apt to work with you.
  • Some people won’t show you common courtesy regardless of your efforts. In this case, seek outside help rather than dealing with that person directly. If you want professional help, you can schedule an appointment at the Carruth Center. Another alternative would be venting to your family. You don’t want the stress to build up and affect your grades.
  • In addition to communication, there are also techniques you can try. I suggest putting in your headphones and listening to music if you can’t fall asleep. Surprisingly, it will get your mind off of what’s going on. I usually get on YouTube and listen to the sound of soft rain or a thunderstorm.
  • In addition to noise issues, make sure you have someone you can trust. I stopped going to the grocery store because all of my food started disappearing. If I do go to the store, I buy non perishable food items and keep them in my room. With three months left of school, I’m not buying a mini fridge.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

